Phillip Island Nature Parks was created by the State Government of Victoria in 1996 and comprises over 1,805 hectares of Crown Land set aside under the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978 “for the conservation of areas of natural interest or beauty or of scientific, historic or archaeological interest.” The Nature Parks is a self-funded organisation and is overseen by a Board of Management appointed by the Victorian Minister for Environment, Climate Change and Water. The Nature Parks reports to the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP).

Responsible Minister
The Hon Lily D’Ambrosio MP, Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change

Our Board Members

Kevin Love June 2021

Kevin Love (Chair)

Kevin Love operates his own advisory business, specialising in project management, policy advice and governance. For over 20 years Kevin worked at the Department of Agriculture in regional Victoria, including 12 years at Leongatha. He also worked with the Department of Premier and Cabinet as the executive with principal responsibility for advising Premiers Kennett and Bracks on policies, programs and major projects related to resources and infrastructure.

He then moved to the Department of Sustainability and Environment as Deputy Secretary, and led significant institutional and organisational reform, had responsibility for the State’s public land estates and assets and established himself as a national leader in natural resource and marine and coastal management policy.

Kevin has a Master's degree in Agricultural Science, is a graduate of the AICD Company Directors' Course and the ANZSOG Executive Fellows' Program and is a Victorian Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia.

Kevin has been a Board Member from 9 August 2013.

 Jane Foley

Jane Foley

Jane Foley brings to the Board extensive experience in tourism having worked with Tourism Tasmania as an executive for over 15 years. During this time, she was responsible for developing strategy, visitor experiences and regional tourism in partnership with industry, community and land management agencies. In more recent times she has held the position as Manager Tourism Melbourne.

Jane has held several board positions including Tasmanian Tourism Industry Council and 10 Days on the Island. Jane has a keen interest in sustainable tourism and regional development as well as health and wellbeing with a focus on community engagement, change management and systems innovation with the state government.

Jane has been a Board Member since July 2018. 

Danielle Auldist Web 

Dr Danielle Auldist

Dr Danielle Auldist brings experience in project management, science and governance. After 15 years of research in Australia and New Zealand, she was the CEO of a Gippsland not-for-profit dairy organisation that developed projects to address needs of Gippsland dairy farmers with many projects later being adopted by the national industry.

Her time with an agricultural consultancy group focused on assignments for water catchment authorities, local governments and primary producers as well as drafting practice planning notes for the State Government. As a lecturer at Federation University, she lectured in the science courses and connected the university to local businesses and organisations in which students could complete internships or research projects.

Danielle currently splits time between a dairy technology business (Lely Gippsland) and a stakeholder engagement role (Seftons). lectures to science students at Federation University and co-manages its research group, Animal Health, Ecology and Diagnostics (AHEaD).

Danielle has been a Board Member since 5 September 2015.

Michaela Salvato

Michaela Salvato

Michaela is the owner and operator of a local accounting and financial services firm where she has provided accounting, taxation and business advisory services for over 20 years. She is also the Treasurer of Destination Phillip Island, the Regional Tourism Board for Phillip Island. Previously, she held positions as National Taxation Manager for SmithKline Beecham; Treasurer of Bass Coast Landcare Network (BCLN), Chair of the BCLN Public Fund and is a Founding Member of the Three Creeks Landcare Group Inc.

Her involvement with Landcare over the past 20 years has fuelled a strong passion for the environment, particularly the impact that can be made at a grassroots and community level. Michaela has a Bachelor of Business (Banking and Finance) and is a Chartered Accountant and Registered Tax Agent.

She has been a Board Member since July 2018.

JaneJobe 002

Jane Jobe

Jane Jobe is the co-founder of Southern Sustainable Developments, a land development business that incorporates sustainable development principles. Prior to that she held several communications and public relations positions with the Australian Department of Defence.

Jane is an experienced board member and currently is a board member of both the Penguin Foundation and Vice President of the Phillip Island Conservation Society as well as a member of several community groups. She holds a Bachelor of Applied Science (Environmental Science) from Charles Sturt University; and a Bachelor of Business (Communication) from Queensland University of Technology.

Jane joined the Board in July 2021

Patrice Mahoney

Patrice Mahoney OAM

Patrice Mahoney OAM is a self-employed professional artist and provides a range of community engagement and consultation services. She is currently employed by Bass Coast Shire Council. Ms Mahoney was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2020 in recognition of her service to the Victorian Indigenous community.

Patrice holds a Bachelor of Art and Media Design from Monash University; a Graduate Diploma Natural Cultural Land Resource Management and a Graduate Diploma of Teaching (Primary) both from Deakin University.

Patrice joined the Board in July 2021

Dr Geoffrey Westcott

Dr Geoffrey Wescott

Dr Geoffrey Wescott is a currently a member of both the Zoos Victoria Board and the Victorian Environmental Assessment Council. He is a distinguished academic and is Honorary Principal Fellow, School of Ecosystems and Forest Science, University of Melbourne and Honorary Research Fellow School of Life and Environmental Science, Deakin University.

Dr Wescott holds a PhD, Environmental (Coastal) Policy and Management from Deakin University; a Master of Science (Zoology) from the University of Melbourne; and Master of Science (Nature Conservation) from the University of London, among others. He is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Geoffrey joined the Board in July 2021



Phillip Island Nature Parks uses BoardOutlook to conduct an annual evaluation on the performance of the Board.