Buy Tickets
Buy Tickets

Our Board

Phillip Island Nature Parks was created by the State Government of Victoria in 1996 and comprises over 1,980 hectares of Crown Land set aside under the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978 “for the conservation of areas of natural interest or beauty or of scientific, historic or archaeological interest.” The Nature Parks is a self-funded organisation and is overseen by a Board of Management appointed by the Victorian Minister for Environment. The Nature Parks reports to the Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action (DEECA).

Responsible Minister
The Hon Steve Dimopoulos MP, Minister for Environment

Our Board Members

Kevin Love (Chair)

Kevin operates his own advisory business, specialising in project management, policy advice and governance. For over 20 years Kevin worked at the Department of Agriculture in regional Victoria, including 12 years in Leongatha. He also worked with the Department of Premier and Cabinet as the executive with principal responsibility for advising Premiers Kennett and Bracks on policies, programs and major projects related to resources and infrastructure.

He then moved to the Department of Sustainability and Environment as Deputy Secretary, and led significant institutional and organisational reform, had responsibility for the State’s public land estates and assets and established himself as a national leader in natural resource and marine and coastal management policy.

Kevin has a master’s degree in Agricultural Science, is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) Company Directors' Course and the ANZSOG Executive Fellows' Program and is a Victorian Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia.

Kevin has been a Board Member from 9 August 2013.

Michelle Dickson

Michelle Dickson is Director of Blue Sense Consulting, which provides strategic planning, collaboration and evaluation services to land and water managers across Australia.

Michelle previously worked in various roles in Victoria’s water and catchment management sectors, including 10 years at West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority.

Michelle has held several board positions including Destination Gippsland, Gippsland Coastal Board and Gippsland Lakes Coordinating Committee and she was previously a member of the Wilsons Promontory National Park Advisory Group.

She holds a Bachelor of Applied Science Environmental Management, a Master of Evaluation, a Graduate Certificate in River Health, a Certificate of Governance Practice and a Certificate IV of Workplace Training and Assessment.

Michelle has been a Board Member since 1 July 2023.  

Beverley Munro

Beverley Munro is currently a member of the Nature Parks’ Reconciliation Advisory Committee as well as the Chair of Bass Coast Health’s Indigenous Advisory Committee and co-chair of the Bass Coast Reconciliation Network. She has extensive experience in people and culture roles including previous 

roles of Director, WorkForce Health and Safety at Monash Health, Assistant Director, Health, Safety and Wellbeing at Victoria Police, and Manager, Equal Employment at the Department of Community Services.

Ms Munro has Wiradjuri heritage and has previously been a member of the Bass Coast Shire Council’s First Peoples Advisory Committee and Westernport Water’s Reconciliation Action Plan Working Group.

She is currently completing a doctorate in cultural economics and holds a Master of Public Health, a Diploma of Applied Science OHS (Occupational, Health and Safety) and a Bachelor of Social Studies.

Beverley has been a Board Member since 1 July 2023.

Michaela Salvato

Michaela is the owner and operator of a local accounting and financial services firm where she has provided accounting, taxation and business advisory services for over 20 years. She was formerly the Treasurer of Destination Phillip Island, the Regional Tourism Board for Phillip Island (Millowl). Previously, she held positions as National Taxation Manager for SmithKline Beecham; Treasurer of Bass Coast Landcare Network, Chair of the Bass Coast Landcare Network Public Fund and is a Founding Member of the Three Creeks Landcare Group Inc.

Her involvement with the Three Creeks Landcare Group Inc over the past 20 years has fuelled a strong passion for the environment, particularly the impact that can be made at a grassroots and community level. 

Michaela has a Bachelor of Business (Banking and Finance) and is a Chartered Accountant and Registered Tax Agent. 

Michaela has been a Board Member since 1 July 2018.

Jane Jobe

Jane Jobe is the co-founder of Southern Sustainable Developments, a land development business that incorporates sustainable development principles. Prior to that she held several communications and public relations positions with the Australian Department of Defence.

Jane is an experienced Board member and currently is a Board member of both the Penguin Foundation and Vice President of the Phillip Island Conservation Society as well as a member of several community groups. She holds a Bachelor of Applied Science (Environmental Science) from Charles Sturt University; and a Bachelor of Business (Communication) from Queensland University of Technology.

Jane has been a Board Member since 1 July 2021.

Patrice Mahoney (OAM)

Patrice Mahoney OAM is a self-employed professional artist and provides a range of community engagement and consultation services.

Patrice was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in 2020 in recognition of her service to the Victorian Indigenous Community.

She holds a Bachelor of Art and Media Design from Monash University; a Graduate Diploma Natural Cultural Land Resource Management and a Graduate Diploma of Teaching (Primary) both from Deakin University.

Patrice has been a Board Member since 1 July 2021.

Dr Geoffrey Wescott

Dr Geoff Wescott was a member of both the Zoos Victoria Board and the Victorian Environmental Assessment Council. He is a distinguished academic and was an Honorary Principal Fellow within the School of Ecosystems and Forest Science (end September 2022), University of Melbourne and is also an Honorary Research Fellow within the School of Life and Environmental Science, Deakin University.

Geoff holds a PhD, Environmental (Coastal) Policy and Management from Deakin University; a Master of Science (Zoology) from the University of Melbourne; and Master of Science (Nature Conservation) from the University of London, among others. He is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) and a Fellow of the Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand.

Geoff has been a Board Member since 1 July 2021.



Phillip Island Nature Parks uses BoardOutlook to conduct an annual evaluation on the performance of the Board.