Media Releases 2015

Posted on 30/10/2015 by Phillip Island Nature Parks

Phillip Island’s National Surfing Reserve of the Year 

The Phillip Island National Surfing Reserve has been awarded the honour of being named ‘The National Surfing Reserve of the Year’ by the National Board. 

The annual award was presented to the Community Working Group ‘in recognition of their ongoing and outstanding dedication to managing and raising the status of the Phillip Island National Surfing Reserve and working with other Phillip Island and State stakeholders to ensure the Reserve is both well managed and well known’. 

“Congratulations on the tremendous effort the Phillip Island National Surfing Reserve Committee has put into the Reserve before and since its dedication,” said Andrew Short, Chair, National Surfing Reserves Australia. 

Since the Reserve was officially launched by Layne Beachley in March 2013, the Community Working Group has met regularly to ensure the Reserve is promoted, protected and respected within the community. Achievements include: 

-       memorial plaques placed at Cape Woolamai, Smiths Beach, Summerland and Cat Bay;

-       the production of a book and brochure about the Reserve;

-       development of a history archive of surfing on Phillip Island and the Surfing Reserve;

-       running an annual Tag Team Surfing Challenge for the community. 

“Our role is to work together to ensure the values of the Reserve are protected and promoted under our motto of ‘Share, Respect, Preserve’,” said Geoff Owens who has been a key member of the Working Group since it’s inception. 

“We are lucky to have a great team who work together and is supported by a wonderful community of surfers,” Geoff said. 

“On Phillip Island, we are lucky to have the natural and cultural values of our coastline protected by Phillip Island Nature Parks and Bass Coast Shire Council.  The Surfing Reserve adds a layer of recognition of the importance of surfing to the area and community. 

The Phillip Island National Surfing Reserve is the first of its kind in Victoria and one of eighteen across Australia. National Surfing Reserves is a voluntary collaboration dedicated to recognising iconic surfing sites in Australia and assisting NSR sites globally. 

The Phillip Island National Surfing Reserve community project continues to be proudly supported by: Bendigo Community Bank San Remo, Cowes and Grantville; Ramada Phillip Island; Phillip Island Nature Parks; Bass Coast Shire Council; Phillip Island Board Riders Club and Woolamai Beach Surf Life Saving Club. 

Find out more at

Follow us on Facebook! 


Media Contacts:

Sally O’Neill - 0408 101 976

Eleanor McKay – 0422 313 847

NSR Award

Picture caption (from left): Graeme Clauscen, Geoff Owens, Eleanor McKay, Sally O’Neill, Derek Hibbert, Catherine Basterfield and Dr Andre Chiaradia hold the award.