Phillip Island Nature Parks aspires to maintain a world-leading research program on little penguins, coastal birds, seals and the terrestrial ecosystem of Phillip Island. Our research program is advised by two committees on scientific and ethics issues.

Scientific advisory committee

The Scientific and Research Advisory Committee has outstanding external scientists who advise the Research Department and the Phillip Island Nature Parks Board on scientific issues and research directions.  

Michael Magrath (Researcher – Zoos Victoria)

Dr Simon Goldsworthy (South Australian Research and Development Institute)

Dr Robin (Raz) Lawson (Department of Primary Industries, retired)

Dr Adrian Moorees (Department of Environment and Primary Industries)

Dr Ian Beveridge (University of Melbourne)

Peter Menkhorst (Department of Sustainability and Environment, retired)

Dr Steven Swearer (University of Melbourne)

Andrew Paxton (Nature Parks Board)

Stephen Davie (Nature Parks Board)

Ethics committee

An Animal Experimentation Ethics Committee is responsible for overseeing the adequacy and ethicality of research procedures in the best long-term interests of the Phillip Island’s fauna. The committee is independently chaired and includes external members:

Dr Jenny Hibble (Chair:Veterinarian)

Dr Kath Handasyde ( Researcher - University of Melbourne)

Claire Davis (Wildlife carer)

Bill Naughtin (Member of public)

Click here to view the Animal Ethics Committee Terms of Reference